KZN Philharmonic Summer Symphony Season – Concert Three and Four

KZN Philharmonic Summer Symphony Season

Playhouse Opera:

Concert three: Thursday 23 February

Concert four: Thursday 2 March

DURBAN:  The glorious KZN Philharmonic Orchestra is half-way through its six-concert Summer Symphony Season which is currently taking place every Thursday in the Playhouse Opera.

The orchestra moves back to the Playhouse for this season – performing in the magnificent Opera House.

The soloists selected for this season represent some of the most exciting vibrant talent of the new generation of global music makers – marrying rock-star appeal and accessibility with heavy weight music credentials, applauded virtuosity. All have recently won major international music competitions.

The KZN Philharmonic’s associate guest conductor Daniel Boico joins the orchestra for the following two concerts. On 23 February he conducts multi award-winning young pianist Daniel Ciobanu from Rumania.

The all-Russian programme features at its centrepiece Prokofiev’s viscerally exciting Piano Concerto No.3. Either side of it are Borodin’s Overture to Prince Igor and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony Pathetique: No. 6 in B minor – the composer’s final completed magnum opus.

Daniel Ciobanu is winner of the 2015 UNISA international piano competition and the 2014 Scottish international piano competition in Glasgow. Ciobanu has been described as “impetuous” – with a love of the classical repertoire.

He has simultaneously won an astonishing array of globally respected international piano competitions, as well as travelled extensively. His passport shows stamps from his native Romania: Bacau; Brazil: Rio de Janeiro; China: Beijing; Morocco: Marrakesh; USA: Los Angeles; Belgium: Tournai; Austria: Salzburg; France: Paris and Gaillard; Italy: Sacile; UK London and extensively throughout Scotland.

The March 2 concert features Mariam Batsashvili on piano as the soloist performing Franz Liszt’s virtuosic Piano Concerto No. 1 – a 20 minute piece Liszt composed over a over a 26-year period: the main themes of which were written in a sketchbook dated 1830, when Liszt was nineteen years old.

At only 23 years old, Mariam Batsashvili from Tbilisi, Georgia already ranks among the most promising young pianists of her generation. She won the 10th international Franz Liszt competition, and was nominated by the European Concert Hall organisation as the Rising Star for the 2016 / 17 season.

Respected  German newspaper SZ (Die Süddeutsche Zeitung) had this to say of one of her performances: “A thousand great moments, Batsashvili creates a dark poetry which always feels natural and accurate. Her magical moments are always consistent and her virtuosity is each time paired with feeling… her performance displays an objective wisdom.

Also on the mixed bag programme will be Mendelssohn’s The Hebrides Overture Fingal’s Cave, Rajna’s Adonai Ma-Adam Chorus No.1 and Brahms’ Symphony No.1 in C minor.

Booking is through / 0861 915 8000 / Shoprite Checkers Money Market Counters. It is cheaper to subscribe: for subscriptions contact 031 3699438.

Morning tea and symphony: Catch the final rehearsal on the morning of the scheduled concerts every Thursday during season at 10am for a nominal charge. Contact KZN Philharmonic offices for bookings and for more info: / 031 369 9438.

To better appreciate the music ahead of the concert: pre-concert lectures take place in the Alhambra Room at the Playhouse from 6 until 6.40pm prior to the concert every Thursday.


Concert THREE

Date: 23 Feb

Conductor:  Daniel Boico

Soloist: Daniel Ciobanu

Featured instrument: piano

Programme: Borodin Overture to Prince Igor; Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3; Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Pathetique

Pre-concert Lecture by Michael Green

Concert FOUR

Date: 2 Mar

Conductor: Daniel Boico

Soloist: Mariam Batsashvili

Featured instrument: piano

Programme: Mendelssohn The Hebrides Overture (Fingal’s Cave); Rajna Laila Adonai Ma-Adam Chorus No.1 (three Hebrew Choruses) Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 1 and Brahms Symphony No1 in C minor

Pre-concert Lecture by Dr Teddy Pillay

Related Posts