Durban Girls High Hosts Fifth Regional

Fixtures for the Durban Central Regional
Durban Girls’ High School Sunday 16 May
Coming up to midway in the fixtures of the SPAR KZN Schoolgirls’ Hockey Challenge, Durban Girls’ High School host the Durban Central Regional at their 3 Schools Astro on Sunday 16 May.
Girls High welcomes five teams from in and around the CBD, including Inanda Seminary, the INK team, St Henry’s Marist College, Maris Stella and Durban Girls’ College.
Getting the day underway, St Henry’s will meet the INK team in the first game of the regional. All games will have a duration of 20 minutes, with play going only one way. A win notches up four points, a draw with goals earns two points and a goalless draw adding one point.
Concluding the round robin tournament, the two top teams will meet each other in the regional final. If, by the end of the 20 minutes, the teams are all level, then the game will move to an exciting 8 second penalty shoot out to decide the overall winner.
One team has completely dominated this area, the only team to have a 100% record in the ten years of the SPAR KZN Schoolgirls’ Challenge. Durban Girls’ College is the solitary name to have been engraved on the trophy since the tournament’s inception in 2011. In the take two of the tournament’s milestone celebratory ‘tenth’ year, five schools will be keen to change this history, and see their name included.
The winner of the Durban Central Regional joins Danville Park Girls’ High, winners of the Durban North Regional, Wembley College from the uMvoti, uThukela and uMzinyathi Regional, and St Mary’s D.S.G. from the Highway Regional.
Please note, no supporters are allowed pitch-side under the current government regulations.
For more info like the tournament’s Facebook page or follow on Instagram.

Related Posts