Wartburg Retain Title For Sixth Time

SPAR KZN Schoolgirls’ Hockey Challenge
uMvoti, uThukela and uMzinyathi Regional
Greytown High School: Saturday 11 May
Reclaiming their regional title, Wartburg Kirchdorf raised the trophy from the uMvoti, uThukela and uMzinyathi Regional in the SPAR KZN Schoolgirls’ Hockey Challenge that took place at Greytown High School on Saturday 11 May.
Wartburg have dominated this region, having been previously crowned five times, and ended their day with an impressive five victories as they kept a clean scoresheet not allowing any goals against them.
Wartburg took on one of the surprise packages, the well-structured and determined team from Deutsche Schule Hermannsburg who played strong hockey throughout the day. They earned 11 points overall, with two wins against defending champs, Greytown High School and Estcourt High School, a two all draw against Domino Servite and a goalless draw against Wembley, and going down 1-0 against Wartburg.
In the regional final, ten minutes into the game Wartburg’s Lise-Lea Engelbrecht surged into the Hermannsburg circle, swerving left and right before offloading the ball towards the p spot, where a lurking Luthando Makhaye knocked the ball in beyond the goalkeeper’s attempts of Kei Blackburn.
Responding on the other end, Hermannsburg’s Ntando Mpungose managed to sneak the ball across the line in a crowded goal area after a magnificent run down the field, beating the pads of opposition goalkeeper Andiswa Ndaba.
At full time, Hermannsburg, who for the first time in the history of this regional were making an appearance in the regional final, held their own and not allowing any of Wartburg’s attacks to amount to any more goals.
Three players from each team stepped up to the spot in the deciding penalty shootout. Slotting in for Wartburg, Lise-Lea Engelbrecht opened her team’s account, followed by Amahle Zondi who on entering the circle, rocketed in her shot left of Blackburn. The four other attempts, all three of Hermannsburg’s and the final Wartburg penalty all did not find the back of the box.
Umpire for the day was from host school, Greytown High School’s Stacey Wheeler.
Wartburg is the eighth team to earn a berth at the Grand Finals. They join St Anne’s College (PMB North), Epworth (PMB Central), newcomer Crawford La Lucia (DBN North), Durban Girls’ College (DBN Central), Amanzimtoti High School (DBN South), Kokstad College (Southern KZN), and Ferrum High School (Northern KZN).
The Highway Regional, which took place the day after this regional, saw St Mary’s DSG claim the ninth spot at the Grand Finals. Only one tournament remains in this ten-region tournament, where teams from around Richard’s Bay and eShowe get their turn in the Northern KZN Coastal Regional that takes place at Grantleigh College this weekend.
For more info like the Facebook page or follow the Instagram account.

Related Posts