St Dominic’s To Host Northern KZN Regional

SPAR KZN Schoolgirls’ Hockey Challenge
Northern KZN Regional
St Dominic’s Newcastle: Saturday 4 May
Eight schools are due to take to the astro turf for the seventh tournament of the 2019 SPAR KZN Schoolgirls’ Hockey Challenge Northern KZN Regional that takes place at St Dominic’s Newcastle on Saturday 4 May.
This region has had two teams lifting the trophy, with the defending champs Ferrum High School, having seven titles to their name and one-time winners, Sarel Cilliers raising the trophy in the 2016 tournament.
At the Grand Finals, which takes place in Durban where the ten regional finalists compete each year in July, Ferrum High School has racked up two fifth places, two sixth places, a ninth and two tenth places. In 2016 Sarel Cilliers finished ninth overall.
Of the eight teams that will be contesting on the day, six have made appearances at all nine of this region’s tournaments: they are 2019 hosts St Dominic’s, Newcastle High School, Dundee High School, Vryheid High School and Pongola Akademie; missing the second year is Sarel Cilliers and having competed in six of them, the team from Pionier Hoërskool.
The proceedings on game day see St Dominic’s, Newcastle, Dundee and Vryheid all slot into Pool A while Ferrum, Pongola, Pionier and Sarel Cilliers will compete against each other in Pool B. The first game gets underway at 8am with hosts St Doms taking on Newcastle High. The second game sees the two regional champions, Ferrum vs Sarel Cilliers taking on each other in the second game.
Teams earn themselves 4 points for a win, 2 points for a draw with goals or 1 point for a goalless draw and no points for a loss.
Once all the pool games are wrapped up, the first of the cross-pool games gets underway revealing fifth and sixth position. Next up will be the two semi-finals, followed by the game for seventh place. Concluding the day are the two medal games with the bronze medal game due to tip off just before 2pm and the gold silver game starting at 2.15pm.
The winner for this region will head to the Grand Finals at St Mary’s DSG in Kloof, were they will meet nine other regional finalists from around KZN over the weekend of 20 and 21 July.
Teams that have secured a place at the Grand Finals are Epworth (PMB Central), St Anne’s College (PMB North), newcomer Crawford La Lucia (DBN North), Durban Girls’ College (DBN Central), Amanzimtoti High School (DBN South) and Kokstad College (Southern KZN).
For more info on the tournament like the Facebook page or follow it on Instagram.

Related Posts