Durban: July 30 to August 4.
The third annual Heat City Comedy Festival returns to Durban venues for six days of hilariousness featuring an astonishing array of some of South Africa’s most exciting, boundary breaking and innovative comedians, from July 30 to August 4.
The proudly local festival spreads its wings this year as it takes over five of Durban’s favourite comedy venues for almost a whole week of laughter. These venues have played an integral part in helping shape, host and support Durban’s comedy scene. The participating venues this year are The Charlatan, Happy Hippo, Cool Runnings, and The Winston Pub with the final weekend playing out at the recently re-invigorated Seabrooke’s Theatre at DHS.
This year’s lineup features a diverse mix of carefully-curated talents from across South Africa alongside Durban’s freshest and finest comedians in a mash-of stand-up and sketch-based comedy acts. On the bill this year are: Carvin Goldstone, Neil Green, Dillan Oliphant, Lindy Johnson, Simmi Areff, Bob Perfect, Nonto R, Eric Jansen, Kwanda Radebe, Keenan Cerff, Kate Pinchuck, Bongani Dube, Pravesh Mungaldave, Alyn Adams, Dalin Oliver, Leah Jazz, Monde Blose, Warren Robertson, Kamz Govender, Rory Petzer, Melissa Jhinku, Sbu Mnyandu, Kenwyn Davis, Chantal Jax, Darrien Asbury, Abbey Hudson, Mmangaliso Mhlongo, Spencer Govender, Jo Holroyd, Tibs, Nabeel Peer, Cyril Basker, Thami Dlamini, Vee Morton, Musa Zondi, Akhil Maharaj, Thuto, Felicia Pillay, Justin LaGroove, Mouth Kulumanjalo, Ru Badal, Mfundo Mhlongo and Jacques Botha.
Durban’s favourite youth radio station DYR105.1FM join the festival as official media partner for the second year running with Kevin Minter-Brown expressing their excitement at joining in once again, “DYR105.1FM is thrilled to get behind the Heat City Comedy event. We are big fans of developing young talent, and combined with some fantastic big names in comedy, this is a great opportunity for Durban to get out there and laugh amidst the chaos”.
The festivals kicks-off at The Winston Pub on 30 July with Carvin Goldstone hosting Durban’s next big acts and Nonto R headlining the show.
Full Festival Programme:
The Winston Pub: Tues 30 July: 20:00
Headline: Nonto R
Host: Carvin Goldstone
With: Vee Morton; Justin LaGroove; Spencer Govender; Mouth Khulumanjalo; Darrien Asbury; Musa Zondi; Jo Holroyd: Mfundo Mhlongo; Jacques Botha; Thuto; RU Badal; Felicia Pillay
WebTickets: R80 presale / R100 at door
The Charlatan: Wed 31 July: 20:00
Headline: Neil Green
Host: Thami Dlamini
With: Simmi Areff; Bongani Dube; Abbey Hudson; Kamz Govender; Sbu Mnyandu, Leah Jazz and Tibs
WebTickets: R80 presale / R100 at door
Happy Hippo: Thurs 1 Aug: 20:00
Headline: Dalin Oliver
Host: Eric Jansen
With: Monde Blose; Rory Petzer; Chantal Jax; Cyril Basker; Melissa Jhinku and Akhil Maharaj
WebTickets: R80 presale / R100 at door
Cool Runnings: 2 Aug: 20:00
Headline: Dillan Oliphant
Host: Bob Perfect
With: Kwanda Radebe; Lindy Johnson; Kate Pinchuck; Keenan Cerff; Kenwyn Davids; Mmangaliso Mhlongo; Nabeel Peer
WebTickets:R80 presale / R100 at door
Seabrooke’s Theatre at DHS: Friday 2 Aug
18:30: Pravesh Mungaldave: Human Behaviour
20.30: Simmi Areff: Love and Other Jokes
Seabrooke’s Theatre at DHS: Saturday 3 Aug
10.30: Bongani Dube: Upandup
12:00: Kamz Govender and Mmangaliso Mhlongo: Bad Connection
13:30: Chantal Jax: Oh my Gad
15: 00: Warren Robertson: D(e)ad Inside
17:00 Neil Green: Nix Shares
18:30: Dillan Oliphant: Good Kid, Maad Witty
20:30: Lindy Johnson and Kate Pinchuck: Frizz Pop
Seabrooke’s Theatre at DHS: Sunday 4 Aug
12:00: Lindy Johnson and Kate Pinchuck: Frizz Pop
13:30: Keenan Cerff: Joked my Way Out
15:00: Eric Jansen is a Lekker Ou
16:30: Kwanda Radebe and Sbu Mnyandu: Two Half Man
18:00: Alyn Adams: Cannabliss
20:00: Bob Perfect: The End of the World

Related Posts