Defending Champs, Greytown To Host Umvoti, uThukela And Umzinyathi Regional

SPAR KZN Schoolgirls’ Hockey Challenge
Umvoti, uThukela and Umzinyathi Regional
Greytown High School: Saturday 11 May
Defending champs, Greytown High School will be hosting teams in the upcoming uMvoti, uThukela and uMzinyathi Regional for the SPAR KZN Schoolgirls’ Hockey Challenge on Saturday 11 May.
This region has produced four champions that have progressed to the Grand Finals in Durban each year. First time winning this regional, defending their title this year – Greytown High School managed to dethrone Wartburg Kirchdorf School who have dominated the area for five consecutive years from 2013. Prior to the Wartburg Kirchdorf era, Wembley and Ladysmith High School both hoisted the trophy.
Six teams will be kitted up and ready to take to the field, first up in this regional are defending champions, Greytown and Hermannsburg, as they get the ball rolling in the first of fifteen round robin games at 8am.
This is one of the smaller regionals in this ten region tournament that travels the length-and-breadth of KwaZulu-Natal in the build up to the Grand Finals in July. Participating schools from this area are host school and defending champs, Greytown High School together with Deutsche Schule Hermannsburg, Domino Servite, Escourt High School, Wartburg Kirchdorf and Wembley College.
All games are 20 minutes long, with a win earning a team 4 points, a draw with goals – 2 points, a goalless draw – 1 point and a loss – zero, Once all the round robin games have been completed, the regional final will take place between the top two teams. The gold medal game gets underway at 1.40pm followed by prize giving.
Confirmed schools that already have tickets to the Grand Finals are St Anne’s College (PMB North), Epworth School (PMB Central), Crawford La Lucia (DBN North Regional), Durban Girls’ College (DBN Central Regional), Amanzimtoti High School (DBN South Regional), Kokstad College (Southern KZN Regional), and Ferrum High School (Northern KZN).
The day after the uMvoti, uThukela and uMzinyathi Regional, teams from the Highway area take to Thomas More College on Sunday for the Highway Regional. And then, the last remaining regional travels to Grantleigh School on Sunday 19 May. Thereafter the 2019 tournament wraps up with all the regional winners converging at the Grand Finals which takes place at St Mary’s DSG on the weekend of 20 and 21 July.
For more info like the tournament’s Facebook page or follow on Instagram.

Related Posts